Forum Home Forum Home > Off Topic Forums > I'm So Smart
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   Register Register  Login Login

Nuclear Related Questions

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Team KmA
Team KmA

Online Status: Offline
Post Options Post Options   Quote HanFei Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Nuclear Related Questions
    Posted: 26 Aug 2009 at 3:02pm
Do you guys have any questions related to the Nuclear field?  I am a Nuclear Engineering student and trying to get licensed for our school's reactor.
http://www.ne.ncsu.edu/NRP/reactor_program.html
HanFei View Drop Down
Team KmA
Team KmA

Post Options Post Options   Quote HanFei Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Aug 2009 at 12:50am
Originally posted by InHuMaNe_KiLLa

I do!!! How many atom bombs are there in the U.S and the entire world xD?

http://www.project.org/images/graphs/Nuclear_Weapons.jpg
The exact number fluctuates.  Currently, it's going down.  The Mega-Tons to MegaWatt program, which has or will expire soon, down blends highly enriched bombs to low enriched commercial fuel.  This was between the US and Russia, bringing each down to ~1,000-1,500 warheads a piece.   To be more direct to your question, world total probably sits around 3-5 thousand warheads.  Some bombs can have more than one warhead to maximize yield.

In the Uranium bomb at Hiroshima, less than 1 gram of matter was turned into energy, just to give a sense of scale for how much energy matter contains!

HanFei View Drop Down
Team KmA
Team KmA

Post Options Post Options   Quote HanFei Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Aug 2009 at 12:55am
Originally posted by Pinnacle

Yo!!! HanFizzle, I have a serious question. Will I get special powers if I stick my finger inside the reactor?

For the commercial reactors, you cannot touch or see any of the primary coolant; it's all in pipes.